Worlds Away Writing Challenge: Day 5


                                 36518_2095478322495_22226708_n

                                         Worlds Away Writing Challenge:

Seven days of questions, prompts, and ideas to keep you writing. The rules?

  • Answer each question/prompt as completely as possible.
  • Add the link-icon to your posts.
  • If you are so inclined, challenge other writing bloggers(or just any blogger in general) to challenge the challenge by completing the…um…challenge.

Day 5: Most novels (and story worlds) tend to have more characters than they actually need. List all the characters from one of your worlds, then try parring them down to three characters plus antagonist. Could you still tell the story?

No…not my babies…

As far as listing them all goes, that could take pages, so I’ll only go with the ones from book one.

  •  Zissa Churchill
  • Alec Griffin
  • Prilla Rossi
  • Alistair Sterling
  • Warren Churchill
  • Benedict Churchill
  • Enola Graves
  • Theo Baker
  • Inigo Migez
  • Squeaky

In parring them down, I would still need-

  •    Zissa Churchill
  •    Alec Griffin

-as main characters, and-

  • Prilla Rossi
  • Warren Churchill

-as a minor character and an antagonist. I think I could still tell the story, but the novel would be cut by at least a hundred pages. Still, it’s something to think about.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Worlds Away Writing Challenge: Day 5

  1. This is an interesting one. Imagine if J.R.R. Tolkien had tried this one!

  2. I loved reading down your list of names. The first nine sounded delightfully British in my head… and then I got to “Squeaky” and laughed out loud.

    I was also wondering: Did you invent this challenge, or did you get it from somewhere else. It looks like a lot of fun, and I was considering trying it, but wanted to know who I would credit.

    • I think that Squeaky might be an animal. Am I right?

    • Thanks! Picking out names is one of my favorite parts of writing. Especially when you can throw in a goofy one now and then. 😉
      I did invent this one. I was trying to come up with something interesting to schedule for while I was away and thought a writing challenge would do. Feel free to use it!

Please, Tell Me How You Feel.

Blog at WordPress.com.

