A Rose By Any Other Name


Actually, the title has almost nothing to do with the content of the post, it just happened to mention names–which happen to be the topic of the day–and I’ve been reading Romeo and Juliet, and it seemed convenient, so…yeah. Anyway.

I saw this awesome post from apprenticenevermaster a few months ago and have been planning to do something similar for months now. However, as I have absolutely no idea how to make the cool little yearbook-y grid thingamawhozit, I’ll be listing my favorite names a bit differently.

If you haven’t read the aforementioned post(you really should go do that now), allow me to explain.  Names are very subjective things (as evidenced by, say, watching parents-to-be bicker over them). Some people just adore the name Bertha. Some might loathe it. Either way, there’s likely a reason. A TV character you fell in love with, an aunt you couldn’t stand, a book hero that changed your life–all of those can lead to a certain fondness or dislike of a name for years to come. That happens a lot in my case. These are some of my favorite fictional names.

James

James T. Kirk, James West(from the original show, not the movie), and James Herriot(though he himself was not fictional and his work only slightly so) come to mind. I grew up on the Original Star Trek instead of Disney movies. Watched it with my dad from my toddler years on up. Needless to say, Captain Kirk was very important to my childhood. It was kind of the same way with Secret Agent James West of The Wild, Wild West, though he came along later. I fell in love with the idea of Victorian-era gadgets, adventures, and steampunky supervillains, and that love probably helped lead up to me writing the kinds of stories I write now. As for Mr. Herriot, my parents and my aunt both adored his work and introduced me to it sometime in middle school. I’ve been rereading the books ever since.

And that is why one of my villains is named James.

Western ~ "The Wild Wild West", 1965...

See? The dude on the right. Not Will Smith.

Kurt

“If I had a normal life, I’d quite cheerfully go mad and fall over right now.”

From Kurt Wagner, of course. As some of you know, I am an unashamed comic geek, and one of my favorite teams is the X-Men. And within that said team, Kurt is one of my favorite characters. He is essentially the only Christian comic book character I’ve ever come across. It was refreshing to see one portrayed as well as they did with the original Kurt. There were a lot of things about him that I didn’t like or agree with, but it was still a nice change and I liked the character.

I haven’t found anyone to name Kurt, yet. But I will, no doubt.

Bamf

Tommy and Tuppence

From the lovely novels by Agatha Christie. My family always listens to audiobooks on long drives, and it usually ends up being something by Louis L’Amour or Agatha Christie. As such, I think we’ve listened to all of the Tommy and Tuppence books, and I’ve read most of them as well. It’s amazing how such otherwise plain names can take on such personality, if you actually like the people behind them. Tommy and Tuppence are quite possibly my favorite investigative couple ever. They’re smart, funny, a bit romantic in places, and neither one outmatches the other. I may end up naming my children Tommy and Tuppence.

Agatha

“People keep giving me rings, but I think a small death ray might be more practical.”

If I didn’t read Girl Genius, I would hate this name. Without context, it just sounds so…old. Not that there’s anything wrong with old, but I wouldn’t go and name a character or a pet or anything Agatha. However, the magic of personality crops up again. How can you not like a brilliant, awkward mad scientist who lives in a steampunked world and happens to be one of the most relatable characters I’ve seen in a very long time?

Rory

 “I don’t care that you got old! I care that we didn’t get old together!”

Before Doctor Who, I wasn’t overly fond of the name. It wasn’t as if I hated it or had any particular aversion to it, it just didn’t strike my fancy. And then I became acquainted with Rory Williams. The chap who never dies, makes fairly practical observations in the middle of a sci-fi show, and is quite possibly the most romantic chap on the face of the planet. I couldn’t help, but like his somewhat dopey sweetness and his cautious, awkward manner.

Tony

The Mark III armor as featured in the 2008 fil...

Must I explain?

Amelia

Not only do I love Amy Pond, but I have a cousin named Amy. I suppose that helps. Either way, I love the name and its derivatives. The character had her annoying moments, but overall–she was great. I cried when she left.

Now, I have a lot more names–Logan, Declan, Elinor, Jack, Will, Clara, Ilsa, Amanda, Cameron, Bex, Alec, Helen, Connor, Clint, Artemus *deep breath*–but not enough time to go into them all. How about you guys? What are your favorite names? Are they rooted in a real or fictional person? Let me know in the comments!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A Rose By Any Other Name

  1. Well. All my favourite names are Irish (and hence unpronounceable to anyone who isn’t Irish!) but I also love the name Roland, and that’s purely for literary reasons. I’m talking about ‘Chanson de Roland’, of course, the medieval poem, but also the fact that it’s the name of one of the heroes in my favourite book, ‘Elidor’ by Alan Garner. I also came across the name ‘Anelida’ in Geoffrey Chaucer’s poem ‘Anelida and Arcite’ many years ago, and have had a soft spot for it ever since. However, I don’t think my husband would be too pleased if I decided to name any of our future children Roland or Anelida, but that’s a different story!

    Thanks for your post. I really enjoyed your examples!

  2. Pingback: Name Neurosis | Will Wally Wonder

Please, Tell Me How You Feel.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

