Such is the Life


Writers are either the most focused or the most distractable human beings on the face of the earth, and I’m not sure which. At least, I know I am. Conversations with me can be somewhat…challenging…as I tend to get distracted (PLOT BUNNY!!!). My eyes glaze over, I switch over to “Mmmhmms” and nods, and zone out completely while I’m off in my in my own little world with my mental gears clicking away. As one writer put it, I’m just “talking to people you can’t see.” In my head.

Unfortunately, this phenomenon doesn’t just occur in conversation. Over today alone, I managed to miss half of the lectures in choir, switch Mom and Dad’s drinks at dinner, and narrowly miss asking “What’s the salad dressing for?” while staring directly at the salad, all because I was zoned out plotting.

Please tell me I’m not the only one who does this…*headdesk*

Categories: Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Such is the Life

  1. Prilla

    *slowly raises hand* I’m part of the reason you missed some of those lectures in choir cuz I wouldn’t shut up… Sowwy… XD
    And no, you’re not the only one who does that.

    • Dude, even beyond goofing off with you and Shannon, I was STILL staring blindly into space for a good portion of the time. It was a disastrous day.

  2. Prilla

    But you seemed plenty attentive when we were discussing how to take over the world.

  3. Prilla

    Today I explained my plan to take over the world to the robotics class. None of them believed me. They shall pay… >:D
    But seriously, on average I probably zone out way more than you do.

  4. Anna

    IDO THIS ALL THE TIME! Glad to know I’m not the only one 😀 I usually have a song running through my head, a story idea developing or some worry on my mind at all times.

Please, Tell Me How You Feel.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

