My Top 7 Writing Quotes


I love quotes. Particularly when they pertain to writing (my other love). It’s perfectly epic to know that somebody, somewhere has felt exactly the way you have about the exact same thing. And chances are, they’ve explained it better than you have. It’s lovely. These are my favorite writing quotes, and why they resonate with me.

Writers see the world differently. Every voice we hear, every face we see, every hand we touch could become story fabric.

Buffy Anderson

Speaking from only a couple years’ experience, I can definitely deem this true. Every outlandish news story, every goofy classmate, every daily mishap has the potential to become your next great plot twist. Therefore you live on the edge of a pins-and-needles seat, notebook and pen/phone with notepad app surgically attached. But I still think it’s a good way to see the world. It seems to leave you more…open-minded. More ready to believe the impossible, or at the very least, the highly unlikely, just for the sake of having new experience from which to write.

Writers aren’t exactly people…they’re a whole bunch of people trying to be one person.

-F. Scott Fitzgerald

In getting to know people, you generally discover that they have many more facets than you first realized. With writers, it’s even worse; they don’t have facets, they’ve got whole other people hidden in their personalities who only come out when they write. And yes, I speak from experience. My teachers, parishioners, and the majority of the adults who know me consider me the quiet, meek, perfect pupil who wouldn’t dream of getting into any sort of trouble. And everybody else knows I would probably have gotten myself killed by now, if not for the fact that you actually need money to buy plane tickets and parental approval to play with explosives.

I felt a tremendous distance between me and everything real.

-Hunter S.Thompson

This is one of my favorite things about writing. I get to completely disregard reality whenever I sit down with the laptop. I can be whoever I want to be, do whatever I want to do, and all without worrying about physics, legal worries, or the space-time continuum. It’s lovely.

I put all my genius into my life; I put only my talent into my works.

-Oscar Wilde

You don’t have to be a genius or a philosopher to write something brilliant. It isn’t the point (at least not in my opinion). I think modern literary society has gone a bit astray on this; they seem to think that unless your piece is a piercing, thinly-veiled essay on the human condition with overdoses of death, despair, and tragedy, it’s utterly worthless. To my way of thinkin’, we’re supposed to be simple storytellers. To bring people up rather than tear them down.

Writing is a socially acceptable form of schizophrenia.

-E. L. Doctorow.

Did you note the blog title? You can see why this quote resonates with me, since I am obviously not normal. Though, honestly, I have my doubts that “normal” exists anymore (normal is boring anyway).

A writer only begins a book. A reader finishes it.

-Samuel Johnson

I pinned this on Pinterest, and someone posted a comment refuting it within minutes. *facepalm* Granted, it’s a bit out there, but I think it’s accurate. Writers (myself definitely included) tend to need heaps upon heaps of encouragement to stick to their work once they get started on a novel or a story or whatever. In my case, I’ve got a friend/editor, my mother, and an aunt all breathing down my neck when I work on a project. The fact that someone is actually reading and enjoying something I wrote is a big part of why I keep writing. Therefore I think it’s accurate.

An artist cannot fail; it is a success to be one.

-Charles Horton Cooley

Another one of our many foibles? If we hit one singele snag, then we’re automatically terrible writers, the concept was stupid, the manuscript is rubbish, and we should probably become accountants. In the process of trying to revise my novel, there have been countless times when I wanted to scrap it all and move on. But, as the quote says, we’re already sitting pretty. There’s an outrageous amount of people in the world who can’t string two words together(example: all of the Internet), whereas we can (and do) do that in our sleep.

Anybody have more lovely quotes? Feel free to share!

Categories: Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “My Top 7 Writing Quotes

  1. Anna

    I can’t remember who this is by:
    I’m writing a boo. I’ve got the page numbers done.

    Growing up is highly overrated. Just be an author.- Neil Gaimen
    You fail only of you stop writing. -Ray Bradbury

  2. Beautiful quotes..Just love them.most of them fit precisely on me 😉

Please, Tell Me How You Feel.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

