Writing Challenge ~ Day 2 ~ Character Interview


Yes, I’m aware that this is my first day for the writing challenge, and therefore should be on Day 1. But I only found it last night, and I’m dreadfully behind, therefore I’ll do the ones that appeal to me until I’m caught up. Anyways, it’s an awesome Challenge, written up by The Climb. I’d encourage you to join in!

*Note: This will be written in first-person from Zissa.*

1. What is your full name? What does it mean?

My full name is Zissa Sidony Churchill.I’m afraid neither meaning is particularly interesting. Zissa was derived from my aunt’s name, Zara, because she and my mother were very close. Sidony just means “of Sidon.” And Churchill…that’s a synonym for stubborn <sarcasm>.

2. What do you want most out of life?

I want a place to belong and people to belong with.

3. If you had the chance to change ONE thing in your past, what would it be?

One thing? About a hundred come to mind…But if I have to pick one out of the lot, I think my family situation would the first on my list. The way things have gone isn’t entirely my fault, but just for once it would be nice to have a whole family rather than just the ragtag band of oddballs that tolerate each other.

4. What is your family life like?

Oh, that’s a can of worms…My family is quite simply insane. Of course, so am I, but that’s beside the point. My parents are no longer living, and my brothers and I are all loners. Benedict, the eldest, is a lawyer in London, and has a singular dislike for anything unusual, interesting, or adventurous; in essence, me. Flynn, the middle child, is an archaeologist, and is forever off causing trouble somewhere. Flynn and I see each other from time to time, but both of us avoid Benedict since he disapproves of our chosen lifestyles. There are a few scattered uncles and aunts, but they all hate me because they think I’ll corrupt their children. I have contact with a few of the cousins, but that’s all I have in the way of family.

5. What three words describe you best?

Eccentric. Fortunate. Intelligent.

6. Give a brief summary of your past:

I was born in Churchill Manor in London, spent an uproarious childhood there, then moved on to even more uproarious young adult years traveling Europe. When I turned twenty, there was an…incident…at home, and I left. Permanently. I moved to the States to share a house with an old acquaintance from my travels in Italy.

7. What is your view on life?

It’s one long adventure, if you use your time correctly.

8. If you had the chance to give your life to save someone else, would you?

That would depend on the person, I think. I would do anything for my friends, and I would do anything I could to save an innocent life, but if an individual was the cause of the trouble in the first place…then they’re on their own.

9. If you were stranded on a desert island and could only take THREE things with you, what would they be?

The knife I carry in my boot, a box of matches, and a notepad for observations. Any scientist worth their salt could survive on that.

10. How do you view yourself?

I’m a single, globetrotting, perfectly-satisfied inventor. *sighs* And perhaps slightly delusional, too.

Categories: Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 21 Comments

Post navigation

21 thoughts on “Writing Challenge ~ Day 2 ~ Character Interview

  1. Prilla

    … Wow. That’s beautiful, Ziss.

  2. Prilla

    I’d hate to see how one by myself would turn out. XD

    • XD You need a blog. Then you could do a writing challenge!
      Speaking of which…*folds arms*…you haven’t updated your story.

  3. I followed this challenge for one of my own characters yesterday, and I found it SO useful. Thank you for this! I can’t put it on my blog just yet, but I will asap.

  4. Anna

    Ooh! I shall post mine 😀
    This is a character who’s not in anything I’m writing right now but she won’t leave me alone ><

    1.Nora Adelaide Johnston. I have no idea what it means, not that I care for that sort of thing.
    2.I want to be known and loved by all.
    3. Hmmm… that's a tough question. Maybe murdering my awful fiance when I had the chance.
    4. Dull, dull, dull. Except for my brother, who was a blockader. Until those awful Yankees captured him…
    5. Manipulative. Cunning. Flirtatious.
    .6 My fatherwas a merchant. Everything in my life was fine, until the Civil War. Then my brother was captured and my sister ran off to marry a Yankee.
    7. It's heartbreaking.
    8. No.
    9. My Jeb, rations, and a boat so I could get off the stupid island.
    10. I'm too smart and pretty for my own good. (Not that I mind.)

    So yes… Nora is interesting. XD

  5. Prilla

    Ziss: Psh, I tried a blog once or twice. It got overrun by unicorns.
    … I know. *feels guilty* Between art and the six classroom setting classes I’m taking (the massive amount of homework I’m dealing with should be self explanatory with this comment.) it’s just not coming… And I actually brought my laptop along with me when I had to put up with that long drive last weekend, but as I mentioned to you… Well, basically my eye was swollen shut where I wouldn’t even be able to see what I was writing.

    Anna: Nice! I wanna meet this girl…

    • Anna: “I want to be known and loved by all.” Bahahahaha…that’s a great line.
      Prilla: Awww…*hugs* That’s a lot of classes. Are you actually doing any at home this year at all?

      • Anna

        Isn’t that what we ALL want? XD
        Once I really get her character developed more I’m thinking she won’t sound so fluffy. I’m picturing her to be a combination of Irene Adler and Scarlett O’ Hara. (Except unlike Scarlett sheactually has morals. XP)

      • Wow…an Adler and O’Hara hybrid with morals would be a terror to write. I wish you luck. XD

  6. Prilla

    … She would make one epic soap opera character.

  7. Kanon

    I finally had time to do this. ^.^ Here’s Starr the main character of my story Swan Song. A story I’m trying to get around to actually writing(I’m about 3 chapters in).
    So see, I told you I was reading your blog. I just haven’t felt the need to post until now. ^.^

    1. What is your full name? What does it mean?

    Starr Song Knight. Starr as in a star in the sky, only with two R’s. Song as in… well a song… And Knight as in the medieval kind I guess…

    2. What do you want most out of life?

    I want to sing.

    3. If you had the chance to change ONE thing in your past, what would it be?

    That I would have found out that I had cancer before it had spread too far.

    4. What is your family life like?

    My mom is a housewife so she’s always home with me and my brother. I get along well with all of my family, but my mom’s the one I trust my my secrets. My dad’s away a lot, but when he’s home no matter how much stuff has piled up; he always makes time for me. And as for my brother Connor… what can I say? Brothers and brothers after all. But although he teases me mercilessly at times; he’s also there for me when it counts.

    5. What three words describe you best?

    Happy-go-lucky, stubborn, and energetic.

    6. Give a brief summary of your past:

    I grew up like any other kid would, the only difference being I was quite literally always singing. I was in choir during elementary, middle school, and my first year of high school. Then suddenly I was told that I had cancer. The kind they can’t cure yet. I was only fifteen.
    To be told that you have just over a year to live at fifteen is unbearable. I felt like my heart was breaking. But I knew I had to keep moving forward. To keep smiling, to keep living my life in the best way that I can.

    7. What is your view on life?

    Live life one day at a time.

    8. If you had the chance to give your life to save someone else, would you?

    Depending on the person… maybe?

    9. If you were stranded on a desert island and could only take THREE things with you, what would they be?

    A journal, a pen, and food.

    10. How do you view yourself?

    I’m someone who has trouble being honest with their own feelings. Who doesn’t want anyone to see their weak side. And above all else doesn’t want to be forgotten.

  8. Prilla

    … Dang. Ya’ll are writers, and I can’t write a decent short story to save my life… Give me about a week and I’ll have this prompt finished. XD

  9. Prilla

    Yes, but that’s only because they included you and were also written by me. Not a good enough answer.

    • *glares* Not so. You have an excellent writing voice and you have an above average command of the English language, both things that are sorely lacking in the writing community. Both stories have a good balance of action and narration, as well as a good sprinkling of humor. In essence, they are good.
      Besides, by that logic, all your gushing about my novel isn’t good, either. Since they include you and are written by me. 😉

  10. Prilla

    *stabs* I’m having a bad day. Don’t try to reason with me.
    But you LIKE writing! I don’t!

  11. Prilla

    Look, I actually did this prompt… Woo hoo. *sarcastic happiness*

    1. Lady Prilla Amadea Rossi. (author’s note: we’ll just assume this is before she got married three times. XD) As for what it means, I have no idea. Nor do I care. But Amadea was my mother’s name.

    2. To be surrounded by people I love, to live spontaneously, and to always have plenty of walls to paint.

    3. Well, I don’t really know. Life is a gift, I chose to live it as it comes my way. But of course, that doesn’t mean there aren’t some things I’ve done that I regret… *does not want to elaborate*

    4. My parents are both deceased, (thanks to my lovely fake stepmother.) I now live with my best amica Zissa. Which is both an adventure and a nightmare.

    5. Tre!?!? Only three words to describe myself!? Per favore, I could fill an entire BOOK. But if it is to be only three… Vivacious, Creative, and Feminine.

    6. My parents were nobles of Roma, I was kidnapped by an evil relation who killed my parents and used me to get all the power, lived the first eighteen years of my life in the small cita e Venizia. Fortunately, I met Zissa upon accident, and a few years later her brother Flynn helped me escape. Now, I enjoy terrorizing the town of New Madrid. (Just kidding about the terrorizing part.) ((I think…)

    7. Don’t be afraid to stand out or take chances. Always live life to the fullest!

    8. Probably. I’m far too softhearted.

    9. Oh goodness… Well first off, I wouldn’t last a day on a deserted island. But I’d take my sketchbook, plenty of paint, and water. You need water to survive. And mix the paints.

    10. I’m a spontaneous, romantic, Italian girl. My nationality should speak for itself..

    • Yay! Good job, Prilla! See, I told you you were a good writer.
      *the other Zissa pops in* Whaddya mean a nightmare?!?!

  12. Prilla

    *rolls eyes* You’re just being nice.
    Well… You know… There are the middle of the night explosions every once in a while… *reprimanding look*

Please, Tell Me How You Feel.

Blog at WordPress.com.

