Why So Serious?


Warning: The following discusses one of the blogger’s hobbyhorses. Do not be alarmed by ranting, pulling-out of hair, or similarly insane behavior.

Ah, the joys of a new school year. This morning, I was attempting to research American Literature courses to help Mom put together my reading list, and you know what I found? Heaps upon heaps of the most revered cerebral classics of all time. In other words, the stuff I hate. Not that I consider intelligent literature bad, mind you. Definitely not. I was overjoyed to find some perfectly brilliant books and short stories on the list by authors who manage to put thought-provoking concepts into something with an actual plot outside of the preachery (such as Edgar Allan Poe and Mark Twain), and I certainly consider those good.

What I don’t like is the tendency of the literary world at large to think anything light-hearted or anything without an overbearing, prophetic, or bittersweet theme is complete drivel. I just don’t get it. If it isn’t cryptic, over fifty years old, and includes horrendous amounts of dramatic deaths, shocking elements, or dystopian prophecies, then the author’s a hack, the work is garbage, and its readers are uneducated. Or at least according to literature professors and creative writing majors. There are such things as happy themes, you know. People could learn just as much, if not more, from something actually uplifting rather than a social commentary highlighting the sorry moral state of our current society. The amount of success such things have is utterly baffling to me. Particularly since authors who include both elements in their work tend to also be highly successful.

True, it feels a lot more artsy and avante garde and elitist to write sad, heartrending epics than it is to write a nice, cozy comedy. I know, because I felt immensely accomplished after killing off two characters in the space of a single chapter and that was even without inputting a poetic theme. Scary, no?

In a nutshell, the problem lies in all of us taking ourselves way too seriously. Isn’t the point of writing supposed to be simple storytelling, anyways? We’re entertainers. Chroniclers of our times. If we’re too busy figuring out new ways to write the next classic American allegorical novel which happens to pay brilliant homage to F. Scott Fitzgerald, we’re not really doing our job as writers to be creative. To do new things! To encourage learning and exploration and all manner of fantastic endeavors. And most so-called classics make me want to go curl up and die rather than go do something good.

So, rant is over…here are ways to help cut out some of that seriousness.

1. Go Watch Doctor Who

Or read Mark Twain or Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. All three are great examples of how to do it right. They all keep a balance between humor and drama, and there’s always something to learn from them, as it should be with all fiction. Balance. Is. Essential.

2. Reread your current work

If you’ve gone a full chapter without single flash of brightness or humor, methinks you might want to stick in a knock-knock joke or a banana peel or something. Whatever style of humor happens to fit with your narrative voice.

3. Read Literary Fiction

…until you’re sick of it and you can get an idea of what you like and don’t like about it. It can show you how to handle the dramatic passages, as well as where a little bright moment would be appreciated.

4. Let Someone Else Review Your Work

Preferably a trusted friend with a decent eye for books. They can tell you what audiences like and don’t like about their fiction. Not that this should be the final word on your piece; it is after all, yours, and you should stay true to your voice. Unless your voice stinks. In which case…work on it. Also, having someone who’s a bit more literary, preferably a fellow writer, look over your work as well can help point out places where you actually need to insert a bit of the professional high-falutin’-writing-major stuff.

Categories: Writing | Tags: , , , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Why So Serious?

  1. Prilla

    I like to consider myself that friend with a decent eye for books. XD jk

    Anywhoozle, you should be informed that we are doing classics in BC again this year. I have the list to be put together tonight, if that helps you compile your reading list. (Mine’s British classics this year. BLECH!)

    • I know. Mom’s looking over the American Lit books I found to see what I need to suggest tonight.
      Wanna switch? I have to do American Lit. And most of my favorite classics are British. *sobs*

  2. Anna

    THIS POST IS SO TRUE. 😀
    Since you’re taking American Lit I’d strongly suggest To Kill A Mockingbird. (Though it kinda goes against your whole post. XD)

    • I’m suggesting Fahrenheit 451 and Rip Van Winkle at BC tonight. Does it shock you at all that the ones my folks and I hit on are sci-fi? XD

      • Anna

        Lol nope ^.^
        I seriously want to read Fahrenheit 451… is it appropriate?

      • According to my dad, it’s really good, but I myself have not read it.

  3. Anna

    I really want to read it. I just need to get my mom on board XP

    DOCTOR WHO!!!!!!!! Haha I consider it writing research. XD
    Btw… Lestrade from Sherlock is in Season 7!
    (I’ll stop putting random remarks on your blognow. Lol)

    • WHICH PREMIERES TODAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀
      *Matt Smith voice* I like random comments. Random comments are cool.

  4. Anna

    I KNOW!!!!!!!! I made it very clear to my brothers whoever messes with the episodes I record will face the wrath of an angry Southerner. (Which is very fearsome.)
    Good. Lol

  5. Prilla

    Psh, I’m the queen of putting random comments everywhere. xD

    Fahrenheit 451, Frankenstein, Dr. Jekyl and Mr. Hyde, and Journey to the Center of the Earth are all on the BC list. 🙂

  6. Prilla

    Yeah… As soon as I finish Beowulf. *dies from exposure to boring overly gory medieval poetry*

Please, Tell Me How You Feel.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

