Top 7 Writing Resources


Okay, while I did try to establish a pattern of alternating books reviews and writing posts, I had an idea. And when I have an idea, I like to act on it while it’s hot (a philosophy which has led to lots of half-finished or perhaps page-long novels). A part of what sparked it was that I discovered Polyvore last night. It’s brilliant! Fantastic! An absolutely wonderful timewaster, second only to Pinterest. Oh, and it’s a pretty cool writing resource, too. Therefore, here is a list of my favorite writing resources, not necessarily in the order of importance or popularity(my imaginary lawyer made me say that, if you’re wondering). Salud!

1. Polyvore

Since I’ve already mentioned it, why not start here? For those of you not familiar with it, it’s a site with a clothing database that you can search and pull items from to make a set (e.g. an outfit) and then publish it for the world to see. In the some-odd hours since I joined, I’ve found it to be quite helpful for visualizing your characters. And it’s a lot easier for description if you have a solid picture of your charrie in your head. Also, even if you can’t find a specific article of clothing or accessory in the database, you can clip or import your own items. Extraordinarily handy site.

2. Pinterest

Oh, boy…this comes in handy for a lot of reasons. Firstly, you can find a lot of setting pictures, if you’re writing about a place you aren’t familiar with. I can’t even tell you how many London pics I have on my boards (and I won’t tell you how many Doctor Who memes). Beyond that you’ve got all the unique clothing (which you can clip to Polyvore!), home remedies and unusual tricks that your charries can use and come off as brilliant, quotes and quips for you to ruminate on, and a thousand other things. There’s even a history section for research.

3. LitLift

I found this simply by searching for free writing software. Personally, I would say it’s one of the best free organizational tools for writers out there. It’s especially handy if you’re attempting to straighten out a complex plot such as a mystery or a thriller, where you have a billion characters, settings, and pieces of evidence and not enough Post-Its in the world to keep them all straight. LitLift lets you create a page for each one and puts them all in their correct category within each book section you make. Also, there is a free name generator.

4. Storybook

This one you actually have to download to your computer, but can be well worth it. It’s another grand free organizing tool, though it’s set up more for actually writing the story. You set up major and minor characters and settings, then write scenes and chapters to go within each book. It’s definitely the thing for any OCD writers looking for a little outlining help. It’s also quite nice if you happen to be the type that ends up writing the ending, then a middle chapter, then one from the climax, then one from the beginning, and so on, since you don’t have to write things in a particular order with Storybook and it will automatically keep things organized.

5. ThinkExist

I love quotes in writing, and ThinkExist has tons of them from all sorts of people. It’s a massive database that anyone can add to (so the accuracy of the quotations can be iffy). After signing up, you create your book of quotes and the sections therein where you can save anything that catches your fancy. Simple!

6. Beautiful People

I only found this recently as well, but it’s brilliant. And even better, a couple of teens started it *teen pride fist pump*. Every month, they post a list of ten questions for you to apply to your characters as a way to deepen them. What’s nice is that they aren’t the typical “occupation, age, favorite classical composer” clichΓ©s that get you nowhere. In the few that I’ve had the time to read, there have been questions designed to actually make you think. To help you get to know your charries to the very bottom of their fictional soul, whether it be by asking who they care about to the last five searches in their Internet history. Well done, bloggers, well done.

7. MorphThing

This is handy for trying to come up with actual faces to put to your characters. As it happens, I’ve been trying to find something like this for a very long time, so I was an extraordinarily happy lunatic when I came across it. On this site, you can take two photos, whether they be of celebrities or your friends (perhaps they’re synonymous in your case?) or whoever, and morph them into one image. Voila! There’s John and Jane Protagonist! It can be very helpful for your cover artists, too.

Categories: Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Top 7 Writing Resources

  1. Ahhh, thank you for the kind words about Beautiful People. πŸ˜€ You’re going to make me get a big head. πŸ˜‰

    Teens are awesome, including yourself. *teen pride fist pump*

    • *is in awe of the famous blogger* You’re quite welcome! Those questions are seriously brilliant (and they make me feel productive when I’m dodging actually working on the book). Thanks for stopping by.
      Ahem. You’re going to spread around the risk of contracting a big head. πŸ˜‰ But thanks.

      • *splutters on coffee* Um, famous? Not quite… but thanks. πŸ˜‰

        Ahaha. I know how that is. When I need to be writing I always procrastinate on filling out questionaires–including Beautiful People. They’re handy ways to work on writing without actually writing. πŸ˜›

        I think a big-head-epidemic might be on the loose and I’m the one who started it. O_o Oops. πŸ˜‰

      • Well, semi-famous, anyway. I’ve seen your name on a lot of other blogs…

      • Yeah, that’s from Beautiful People, most likely, in which case I think BP is the thing that’s famous, not me. πŸ™‚

  2. Prilla

    Number 7 sounds rather intriguing… (To the non-writer. ie: myself.) I must pop over there and peruse the possibilities of potential helps with me storyboards and doodles…

    • Yep. I haven’t had time to fool with it much. But I will admit to attempting to recreate what a certain fictional British dude looks like in my head.XD

  3. Prilla

    *snickers* Hope you’re enjoying yourself. XD

Please, Tell Me How You Feel.

Blog at WordPress.com.

