Attack of the Deadly Writer’s Stone!


Stone sounds much more sophisticated than block, doesn’t it?

A writer’s block has apparently decided to sit on me for awhile. Despite the fact that my novel is actually done, the editing (e.g. rewriting the stupid parts that exist because I didn’t plan out the blasted ending) is going to kill me before I get to the sequel. As it is, I find myself hunting for reasons to not actually work on it. School, work, other “more important” writing projects–I know I’m stalling, but I have yet to get up the courage to stop myself and get back to the thing. And hey, a little distance is supposed to help with editing, right? Right…

And while we’re on the topic of writer’s block, I’ve got a couple tips for my fellow literarily inclined teenagers. I’ve had plenty of experience. Wayyyy too much, actually.

1. Music!

Sometimes having appropriate music to both block out distractions as well as get your imagination on the same track as your project helps. I typically use soundtracks and split the tracks into folders according to the emotions the particular songs dredge up. I’ve got Action playlists, Romance playlists, Mystery playlists, Sad playlists–you get the idea. And, by the way, the Doctor Who soundtracks are really, really great for writing.

2. No Music.

While music can be a tremendous help, it can also be extraordinarily distracting, depending on both your writing style and the day. Also, some people tend to get into music a little too much on occasion *cough* and that isn’t very good for someone trying to plant their butt in a chair and actually get something done. So it can go either way. Use your own judgement.

3. Brainstorming

When I’m stuck, it sometimes help to step back and start looking for new things to either add or substitute into the story. I trust you know you to brainstorm (if so, would you show me how?), so I won’t get into that, but once you do have a new idea, use it. Working on something new that you’re thrilled about writing can work wonders for your creativity–and therefore, the rest of the piece.

4. Avoidance

Sometimes, that block is a tad too heavy to shift on the first try. Working on something different for a while can help you get your brilliance shining again and help you when you go back to your original project. Either that, or you’re going to want to abandon the first one altogether. Again, it’s a thing that doesn’t work for everyone. Writing is an immensely personalized art.

5. I Think You Already Know…

The most popular and probably the most effective method for ridding yourself of a writer’s stone–er, block? Sit down. Pick up your pen/laptop/whatever. Write. And that’s probably what I should be doing right now rather than imagining new and creative ways to avoid actually working on the monster I’ve created. Granted, the other methods are heaps more fun ( You don’t want to know how long I spent putting together my playlists.), but I think this one has a better chance of success. Not that the others hurt, mind you. Having music to write to and new ideas for when you’re done with this one is always good. Whatever you go with, just write.

Even if you don’t want to.

Like I don’t want to right now.

Good night.

Categories: Writing | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Attack of the Deadly Writer’s Stone!

  1. Prilla

    What if you encounter a writer’s stone in your path every day of your life…?

    • What if you only THINK you encounter such stones every day? I’ve read your stuff, Prilla dear. You’re a good writer, regardless of what you think.

Please, Tell Me How You Feel.

Blog at WordPress.com.

